Get It DrivenCHINA VEHICLE SOURCING

BUYER GUIDE & UPDATE

BYD Song Plus and Sealion 6: China vs regional specs

A document-based comparison of BYD Song Plus and Sealion 6 specifications in China, Kenya, Kazakhstan and the UAE: batteries, powertrains, range labels and equipment.

Vehicles at Wuhan Jingang industrial park, May 2025
BYD Song Plus and Sealion 6: China vs regional specs

The badge is a starting point. The specification sheet is what you buy. If you are comparing a China-market Song Plus with a locally offered BYD plug-in hybrid, match the exact vehicle and equipment before comparing the price.

This guide uses Kenya, Kazakhstan and the UAE as examples for Africa, Central Asia and the Middle East. It compares identified documents checked on 15 October 2026, rather than assuming one specification applies across each region. Brochures without a stated model year are described by their trim and source, not assigned a model year.

First, identify which version is being offered

Our named China-market reference is the 2025 Song PLUS DM-i 112KM Zunrong (尊荣型), the original version rather than the separately named smart-driving edition. BYD’s original launch artwork lists this exact trim and explicitly labels the range figures as CLTC. The artwork is reproduced in the dated launch report linked below. A model year is not a promise of a particular vehicle’s production date. BYD launch artwork, reproduced by IT Home

BYD’s official 2025 Song PLUS DM-i owner’s manual supplies the technical family reference: pages 306–307 cover BYD6483ST6HEV10, HEV11, HEV12 and HEV13, with the same engine output and peak motor output. The Chinese government catalogue separately records HEV13 with an 18.316 kWh battery and a 91 km electric-range figure. Neither document establishes a unique mapping from HEV13 to the 112KM Zunrong retail trim. The table therefore keeps the named retail reference and the technical-code evidence distinct. BYD official owner’s manual, pages 306–309 China official catalogue, PDF page 15

For the regional comparison, we selected Kenya's SEALION 6 Comfort, Kazakhstan's SONG PLUS DM-i 100KM Flagship and the UAE SONG PLUS Comfort. These are purchasing comparisons, not a declaration that every vehicle sharing these names is mechanically identical. SEALION 6 and China's separately named 海狮06 must not be substituted on name alone.

Three regional examples, compared with the China reference

ItemChina: MY2025 Song PLUS DM-i 112KM Zunrong, original editionKenya: SEALION 6 ComfortKazakhstan: SONG PLUS DM-i 100KM FlagshipUAE: SONG PLUS Comfort
Identification basisRetail name from BYD launch artwork; technical family from BYD manual; HEV13 catalogue cross-check is not a unique trim mappingKenya manufacturer brochure; model year not statedOfficial distributor sheet; model year not statedAl-Futtaim sheet; model year not stated
Battery capacityHEV13 catalogue reference: 18.316 kWh; confirm the supplied vehicle’s trim/code correspondence18.3 kWh18.3 kWh18.3 kWh
EngineManual family: BYD472QC, 1.498 litres; rated 74 kW / net 70 kW at 6,000 rpm; 126 Nm at 4,500 rpm1.5-litre, 72 kW1.5-litre, 110 hp as printed1.5T, 96 kW
Traction motorManual family: peak 160 kW, 260 Nm; these are motor figures, not combined system outputFront motor: 145 kW, 300 NmMotor: 197 hp, 325 Nm as printedFront motor: 150 kW, 300 Nm
DriveManual states two-wheel drive; driven axle not specified in that tableFront-wheel driveFront-wheel driveFront-wheel drive
Electric-range figureNamed retail trim: 112 km CLTC; separate HEV13 catalogue: 91 km, cycle not stated there80 km; WLTP notice, SOC 100%–25%Up to 100 km, NEDC80 km, WLTP
Dimensions / wheelbaseManual family: 4,775 × 1,890 × 1,670 mm / 2,765 mmUse the Kenya brochure and vehicle documents for the offered car4,775 × 1,890 × 1,670 mm / 2,765 mmUse the UAE brochure and vehicle documents for the offered car

Sources: Kenya manufacturer brochure, Kazakhstan distributor specification sheet, UAE official distributor specification sheet. The China source is linked above. These figures describe the documents, not a confirmed available vehicle or a current quotation.

Similar batteries do not establish identical powertrains

The Kenyan Comfort sheet lists a 72 kW engine; the UAE Comfort sheet lists a 96 kW turbo engine. Both list an 18.3 kWh battery and front-wheel drive. That is a concrete reason to ask for the engine and motor specification instead of accepting “same battery, same car.”

Regional trim names also need care. Kazakhstan's sheet includes both 100KM Flagship and 150KM Flagship, with 18.3 and 26.6 kWh batteries respectively. Kenya's Premium column specifies all-wheel drive, while Comfort is front-wheel drive. “Flagship” or “Premium” therefore needs the country, document and equipment list attached; it is not a universal BYD equipment level.

Range figures need their test labels

The table deliberately keeps the test descriptions beside the numbers. Kazakhstan's NEDC figure and Kenya's WLTP-based figure, which also specifies a state-of-charge window, are not a like-for-like road test. The named China retail trim uses 112 km CLTC in the launch artwork. The separate Chinese catalogue entry gives 91 km without stating its cycle in that row; it must not silently be relabelled WLTC or treated as the same test as the retail label. None should be converted into a promised daily distance or a percentage advantage from this table alone.

Use your expected route, charging access and operating conditions to decide what evidence to request next. For a used vehicle, add a dated battery-condition report and actual vehicle history to the comparison.

The China manual distinguishes rated engine power (74 kW) from maximum net engine power (70 kW). Its 160 kW and 260 Nm figures refer to the traction motor. Adding engine and motor ratings does not produce a verified combined system output.

Compare the equipment you will actually use

The Kenya sheet lists Type 2 AC charging at 7 kW and CCS 2 DC at 18 kW. The UAE sheet lists 6.6 kW AC charging and an EU Type 2 port. Those are document-specific facts: they do not prove that a China-market vehicle has those ports, supports the same charging equipment or can be made equivalent with an adapter.

For the China reference, the primary documents now support a clearer distinction between the charging connection described for the model range and equipment established for the named trim:

China-market itemWhat the primary documents establish
AC charging connectionThe official manual, page 119, describes a Chinese national-standard (国标) seven-to-seven AC cable. This is a China-standard AC reference; it must not be relabelled EU Type 2. The cited passage does not specify the standard’s edition.
DC connectionManual pages 116–122 illustrate separate AC/DC and AC-only arrangements. They do not name the retail trims for those arrangements. A matching trim sheet or vehicle evidence is still required for the 112KM Zunrong.
Vehicle AC and DC charging powerNot established for this exact trim in the retrieved primary documents. The manual’s 220 V / 32 A and 220 V / 16 A figures describe charging equipment; they are not proof of the car’s maximum AC input.
Driver display12.3-inch full LCD instrument cluster, listed among equipment standard across the MY2025 range in BYD’s original launch artwork.
Infotainment screen and speakersAn exact-trim primary equipment table has not been retrieved. The launch artwork promotes DiLink 100 for the range, which alone does not establish screen size or speaker count for the selected trim.
Phone charging and comfort equipmentExact-trim equipment remains pending. A feature pictured in a range-wide promotion does not establish its inclusion on every grade.

References: BYD official manual, charging instructions on pages 115–122, BYD original MY2025 launch artwork, including the standard-equipment panel. The primary-source check did not recover the historical non-smart-driving trim equipment table. These open fields must not be filled from the newer smart-driving edition or a different range grade.

Cabin equipment varies too. The Kenyan Comfort column lists a 12.8-inch display and six-speaker Dirac audio; the UAE Comfort sheet lists a 12.8-inch display and nine-speaker Dirac audio. A screen photo cannot settle the whole equipment comparison.

Kazakhstan's distributor describes Russian and Kazakh interfaces among the benefits of official-dealer purchases. That does not establish those languages, local connectivity or dealer support on a separately imported China-market vehicle. Kazakhstan official model page

Before choosing the offer

  • Request the model year, complete local trim name, technical model code and VIN when a specific vehicle is proposed.
  • Compare the engine, motors, drive layout, battery and range test cycle in writing.
  • Check steering position, charging-port photographs, charger compatibility, menu languages and the functions you need on the actual vehicle.
  • Ask the responsible local provider to confirm warranty eligibility and repair support for that VIN. A dealer network's presence is not a warranty promise for every import.
  • Confirm destination requirements and a dated quotation showing included and excluded costs before committing to a purchase.

Send Get It Driven your destination country, new or used preference, model year and must-have equipment. We can use those requirements to coordinate the comparison and sourcing enquiry. Availability, destination suitability and service responsibilities are confirmed for each request.

Research checked: 15 October 2026. The linked documents are specification references and may be revised. Where a field or retail-trim mapping has not been established, it remains unconfirmed.

Discuss your vehicle requirements

WhatsApp enquiry